COVID-19 Resources for Child Care Providers

You are here:

During the COVID-19 pandemic, it has become clear that early care and education (ECE) is critical to our overall economy and to our essential workers. However, the small, women-owned businesses that predominate the ECE field will be hard pressed to survive the closures affecting communities across the nation.

As a longtime provider of financial services to ECE businesses, LIIF understands the importance of bolstering these entities that produce a triple halo effect: thriving small businesses, high-quality early education for children, and broader economic opportunity and support for working parents. We also recognize that applying for emergency assistance or government-funded opportunities like the Payroll Protection Program (PPP) may be a challenge for some providers. To address the extreme toll the pandemic has taken on early care and education providers, LIIF is pleased to announce emergency grants for child care providers and a new partnership with Community Reinvestment Fund, USA (CRF) that will allow nonprofit and for-profit child care businesses to apply for an SBA Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loan.

CRF is a trusted LIIF partner and has committed to processing at least 100 PPP applications from ECE providers in LIIF’s current geographies: New York City, the San Francisco Bay Area and Washington, D.C.

Also, special thanks to Heising-Simons Foundation and the Silicon Valley Community Foundation for giving LIIF funds to make emergency grants to family child care providers with the greatest need in San Francisco, San Mateo and Santa Clara counties.

LIIF staff can answer questions about the PPP application process and make sure you understand the requirements of the program. Providers with current LIIF relationships who are seeking financial assistance or need help completing PPP applications should reach out to the following LIIF staff:

New York City:  

Amy Chea, achea@liifund.org or 212.509.5509 Ext 33

San Francisco County:

Phranda Wolfe, pwolfe@liifund.org or 415.489.6126 Ext 326

San Mateo County:

Elizabeth Winograd, ewinograd@liifund.org or 415.489.6127 Ext 327

Santa Clara County:

Chris Bajarias, cbajarias@liifund.org or 415.489.6140 Ext 340

Washington, D.C.

Laura Jackman, ljackman@liifund.org or 202.763.7096 Ext 296

Por asistencia en Español: Nori Dubon, ndubon@liifund.org o 415.489.6145 Ext 345

寻求帮助: Phranda Wolfe, pwolfe@liifund.org or 415.489.6126 Ext 326

For more information on LIIF’s response to COVID-19, read this statement from our CEO:

This article from our President outlines some of our ECE advocacy and work in our markets:

The ECE community is responding to the needs of providers nationwide. Below are resources and additional information.

CRF logo